#4: Being smooth is an art

I didn’t go to work on Friday and whilst I feel kind of bad… I should cut the crap and say outright, I don’t feel bad at all.

It all makes sense in the context of things – I turn up to work today, a Monday morning, 15 minutes late and I find 20 documents that need filing due to work continuing over the weekend. That is all the work I have been assigned and just in case you don’t know what this involves, let me explain:

I look at a document, I take out the appropriate folder and then I place the photocopied document into the folder. Then here comes the most important part – I place the folder right BACK in its place. If I didn’t do my job right, there would be mayhem all over the site office. I really am grateful to have been bestowed such responsibility. Frankly, it’s an honour.

Yeah, it’s a sad life.

I really hope that all this is a preparation for something bigger – I’m not saying I should get to design something and have it constructed but like, maybe, some kind of increased involvement in the project? Pretty please with the sugar on top?

Then again, having heard what happened this morning, maybe that’s a bad idea. Apparently, a worker hit an electricity cable during some earthworks – poor chap must have crapped himself. That amused the office for a few moments until we all realised it’s going to cost the company its reputation and money if it’s not dealt with quickly and quietly. Serious stuff going on.

At least all this typing is making me look like I’m working.

I take that back – just realised it doesn’t work because I’m on a blogging site.

Figured it out when my manager said, “Well that doesn’t look like work.”

New aim: look like I’m working, but do it better.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment