Diary of Useless Intern #1: Why am I even here?

Today is Wednesday.

I started my placement last Monday.

I have never been so bored in my entire life.

Well that’s a lie – I remember I was pretty goddamn bored last summer at my internship with the same company. What did I do then? I used to go on facebook and browse and listen to music and watch videos, but that was only for past time when I was waiting on a piece of work to get back to me or when I was waiting for further instructions.

The difference here is that I’ve been sitting here for the last week or so without any instruction and I’ve only managed to occupy myself because I signed up to do a 20 credit module that is entirely based on this summer.

What the hell am I even going to write about for my module? So far it’s been bullshit and there’s a limit to how much I can spew in my report without sounding like a pretentious douchebag.

For a couple of days I accepted my fate and thought, “Hey I’m getting paid to sit around and do fudge all, not bad!” Not bad. Not bad? I should have shot myself in the face for thinking those words.

If I’m going to spend the next 9 remaining weeks at this placement in one piece whilst retaining my sanity, I better keep myself busy.

What’s a better idea than to illustrate to the entire world that I’m a useless intern who is doing the foggiest of nothings in the massive infrastructural company that I’m in? Yeah that’s right, great idea.

To top it all off, I commute from home and it takes me up to 2 bloody hours to get here, I have to leave by 7.30 and I arrive by 9 USUALLY. By the time I get home at around 7pm, I am too tired to do anything and I usually just eat and then fall asleep.

This placement is going to be torturous physically and mentally.

Welcome to my 9 weeks of hell.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment