Revenge

Revenge is sweet but consuming… Or revenge is consuming but sweet.

This is quite a contentious topic and I am left quite internally conflicted on how to deal with it. Of course, let’s start with an example involving our familiar guys A and B. Remember those guys?

Guys A and B are either friends, in a relationship (yes homo) or they have some kind familiarity with each other.

Guy B socially betrays guy A in some way, shape or form. What should guy A do?

There is no gain from getting revenge, and yet there is no peace not getting it. This happens on a regular basis in some kind of variation in every type relationship so I thought I’d address it.

I have met the people who take a stand for themselves and opt for a confrontation of sorts to vent their anger of the betrayal.
I have met the people who find difficulty in accepting the betrayal and still attempt to reconcile with the Judas.
Then I recognise myself, classing into neither of these previous groups of people, as a person who has learnt to let things go.

It is difficult, I admit, to just let go of issues in which you have been wronged. But the peace you get is far greater than anything.

I suppose in the end, the whole of life becomes an act of letting go

– Pi Patel, Life of Pi (2013)

Why waste your energy and time on hatred when you can use it for far greater things?

tl;dr – don’t dwell on things that don’t get you anywhere.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment